Dear God, WHY: Creep Van

A new super-extra-long Dear God WHY! I’m not sure if we want to make them this long in future, but each DGY is different depending on the film and the reactions and there was a lot that felt worth keeping this time. Let us know what you think!

I wish I’d got my thoughts together a bit more while we were filming – most of what I said was expressed better by someone else. Watching Creep Van again now, I wonder if the story behind all the oddball characters (and there are many more than we had time to mention) is similar to how Nick Frost ended up in Spaced. He had no acting experience, but the character of Mike – invented purely to amuse his friends – was so good that Simon Pegg wrote him into the series. Most of the Creep Van roles seem to be well cast – given a better script and good direction I’m sure the comedic actors could be genuinely, intentionally funny – so I suspect the writers and/or producers made room in the film for the people they knew they could cast.

…Except Creep Van isn’t a sitcom. It’s a horror film, and all these larger-than-life characters just don’t belong there. Comedy horror isn’t the same as putting unrelated slapstick and bad puns in the same film as gory set pieces, and the horror and the jokes and the… “romance” just get in each other’s way. Truly a movie worthy of the DGY treatment.

-M

Leave a comment